Palazzo Toraldo di Francia is located in the historic center, 100 meters from the sea and the Sanctuary of Santa Maria Dell’Isola.
the first nucleus of the building with its vaulted door was built at the end of the seventeenth century.The current form is the result of successive extensions that ended at the end of the 19th century. The alleys surrounding the block have existed since time immemorial, while Largo Luigi di Francia, at the back of the building, is the result of the demolitions following the earthquake of 1783 The first nucleus of the building – with the vaulted door – was built around the end of the seventeenth century by Alessandro Toraldo and his son Antonio.
In the middle of the eighteenth century, the building was enlarged for the first time with the purchase of an alley of which it is still possible to see in the cellars part of the cobblestones and the windows now incorporated into the structure. Between the middle and the end of the nineteenth century, purchased adjacent buildings which, demolished, allowed the expansion of the building in its present form.The internal staircase was rebuilt in 1920. On the mezzanine floor are kept the library and the historical archive of the family, including parchments and manuscripts from the fourteenth to the twentieth century which constitute an important documentation of the social, political, economic and literary history of Calabria